UEFA dropping legal action against remaining ‘Super League’ clubs

UEFA is dropping legal action against the three remaining clubs who are still committed to the so-called European Super League.

UEFA is informing the Madrid commercial court that it will not pursue legal action against Real Madrid, Barcelona and Juventus.

The three clubs had argued in court that UEFA’s attempt to punish them for setting up a breakaway league was against European competition law.

UEFA will also contact the other nine clubs involved in the attempted breakaway to tell them they will no longer need to pay the fines imposed on them for trying to set up the ESL in April.

City supporters display a banner inside Wembley amid the fallout from the European Super League
The attempted breakaway European Super League sparked mass protests at Premier League clubs

The nine clubs are Arsenal, Chelsea, Liverpool, Manchester City, Manchester United, Tottenham Hotspur, Atletico Madrid, AC Milan and Inter Milan.

In May the nine clubs agreed to pay a combined fine of €15m and to have five per cent of their UEFA competitions revenues withheld for one season.

UEFA is dropping its legal action because it respects the Spanish judicial process and it believes that it is not in its interests or the interests of its member associations to drag this out through the courts.

UEFA will continue to do whatever is necessary to stop a breakaway league from ever being formed and it reserves the right to restart legal proceedings if the project, or any similar project, is resurrected.