In Granada, FC Barcelona clinch La Liga title on the road for the tenth time

 Iniesta at the Ciutat de Valencia in 2005 / MIGUEL RUIZ - FCB
Both league titles under Luis Enrique have been made official away from home

In The Wizard of Oz, the main protagonist, Dorothy Gale, became famous for clicking the heels of her ruby slippers together three times and repeating the phrase, “There’s no place like home.”

If an FC Barcelona-themed remake of the film were ever produced, we’d probably see Lionel Messi and Co. tap the heels of their football shoes together and say, “There’s no place like away from home.”

The Catalans’ 3-0 victory on Saturday afternoon at the Estadio Nuevo Los Cármenes in Granada, Spain handed them their latest piece of hardware — the 2015/16 La Liga championship, the 24th in team history.

It isn’t the first time Barça have wrapped up a La Liga title on the road. They did it last year too, thanks to a lone goal from Messi on the second-to-last match day of the season at Atlético Madrid, meaning both of head coach Luis Enrique’s league titles (in his only two seasons at the helm) have been confirmed away from home.

Overall, it’s the tenth time Barça have been proclaimed La Liga champions somewhere other than in Barcelona.

Of the 14 other times Barça have won the league since its inception, 11 came at Camp Nou and before 1957, at Les Corts. On three other occasions Barça were crowned without even having to play following favourable results involving their closest rivals.

Besides Barça’s win at Los Cármenes on Saturday, they have clinched league titles on the road versus the following clubs (stadiums in parentheses).

1928/29 – Arenas de Getxo (Ibaiondo)

1958/59 – Atlético Madrid (Metropolitano)

1973/74 – Sporting Gijón (El Molinón)

1984/85 – Valladolid (Zorrilla)

1998/99 – Alavés (Mendizorroza)

2004/05 – Levante (Ciutat de Valencia)

2005/06 – Celta (Balaídos)