14 May a joyous date in FC Barcelona history

Barça players celebrate the 2004/05 La Liga title at Levante. / MIGUEL RUIZ - FCB
The Catalans have won the league title six times on 14 May and can do it a seventh time this Saturday in Granada

For most people, 14 May is nothing more than the end of the first fortnight of the fifth month of the year.

For FC Barcelona, however, the date is something of a talisman.

Curiously, in 2016, 14 May comes this Saturday, when Barça can win a title on that very date their seventh time in Club history.

All they need to continue the trend is a win at Granada.

It would be Barça’s 24th La Liga title overall.

Previous title clinchers on 14 May have come as far back as 1905, when Barça won the Campionat de Catalunya. The Catalans later went on to win the Copa dels Pirineus in 1911 and the Spanish Cup in 1922 — all three coming on, you guessed it, 14 May.

72 years later

It wasn’t until 1994 that Barça hoisted another piece of hardware on the date in question. A 5–2 blaugrana victory over Sevilla at Camp Nou allowed the Johan Cruyff-led team to leapfrog Deportivo in the league standings on the final day.

Then in 1997, Barça won the Club’s fourth Cup Winners’ Cup with Bobby Robson at the helm after a 1–0 win over Paris Saint-Germain in Rotterdam. Ronaldo was the lone goal scorer that day.

The last time Barça raised a title on 14 May came in 2005, when the team, led by Frank Rijkaard on the bench and by Ronaldinho on the field, clinched the La Liga championship in the third-to-last week of the season with a 1–1 draw at Levante. Samuel Eto’o scored that day for FCB.

Now, in 2016, the team is led by Luis Enrique Martínez and can once more win a title on 14 May. This time in Granada, and with the added incentive that Real Madrid are right on Barça’s heels.

Kick off at the Nuevo Los Cármenes Stadium is at 5.00pm CET.