Five FC Barcelona players named to UEFA's Team of the Year for 2015

From left: Neymar, Dani Alves, Lionel Messi, Gerard Piqué and Andrés Iniesta / UEFA.COM
Neymar Jr, Dani Alves, Leo Messi, Gerard Piqué and Andrés Iniesta received the most votes from users

FC Barcelona led all teams with 23% of the vote for UEFA’s Team of the Year, thus landing five players — Dani Alves, Gerard Pique, Andrés Iniesta, Leo Messi and Neymar Jr — on the best XI of 2015 as voted by fans on, the official website of European football’s governing body. The five Barça players who made the final team emerged from a shortlist of 40 players which included their teammates Javier Mascherano, Luis Suárez and Ivan Rakitic.

Leo Messi, who received the most votes, was chosen on 70% of the ballots and has made now made the UEFA Team of the Year for the seventh time, previously doing so in 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012 and 2014. Following Messi were Andrés Iniesta, elected on 63% of the ballots cast, Dani Alves (45%), Neymar (44%), and Gerard Piqué (40%).

The remaining players on UEFA’s Team of the Year are the Real Madrid players Sergio Ramos, Cristiano Ronaldo and James Rodríguez, the Bayern Munich players Manuel Neuer and David Alaba, and Juventus’ Paul Pogba.