Barça again win Fair Play Awards

Barça have again won the Fair Play Award / PHOTO: Arxiu FCB
Tata Martino and Eusebio Sacristán’s sides took the Fair Play Awards in Spain’s top two leagues

It’s the first time two sides form the same Club have taken both awards in the same season

Barça’s first team have again won the Fair Play Award handed out by the Spanish Football Federation, with the B team winning the same prize in the second division.

This is the fourth season on the run that the two sides have headed their respective league’s Fair Play tables – a double that no other Club have ever achieved.

Five and six times winners

With 79 points, Barça finished ahead of second place Real Sociedad, with 83 and Bilbao, on 85 and is the sixth  time the side have won the award, following on from the  2005/06 season under Frank Rijkaard, the 2008/09, 2010/11and 2011/12 campaigns with Josep Guardiola and last season’s under Tito Vilanova.

Barça B have won the award on five occasions – in 1998/99 under coach Josep Maria Gonzalvo, in 2010/11, with Luis Enrique and in 2011/12 and 2012/13 under Eusebio Sacristán, who has this personally coached the team to the last three awards.